The Ten[der] Commandments


I. You shall have no other gods before me.

II. You shall not make for yourself an idol.

III. You shall not misuse the name of the LORD your God.

IV. Remember the Sabbath day by keeping it holy.

V. Honor your father and your mother.

VI. You shall not murder.

VII. You shall not commit adultery.

VIII. You shall not steal.

IV. You shall not give false testimony against your neighbor.

X. You shall not covet your neighbor’s possessions.

God gave these commandments to the nation of Israel AFTER He made His covenant with the people.  He gave them these basic commands as a foundation for their relationship with God and each other.  Israel was to honor God by keeping these commands as a response of grattitude for His leading them out of slavery in Egypt.  A foreshadow of what Jesus Christ did for us at the cross:  He rescued us from sin and guilt and led us into a right relationship with God.  It is through Christ that we can be forgiven for our sin and brought into eternal life with Him!

Jesus was asked:  “Of all the commandments, which is the most important?”  He responded:  “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength.  The second is this:  Love your neighbor as yourself.  There is no commandment greater than these.”  –  Mark 12:28-31

~ by StraightUp Faith on December 27, 2007.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: